When Time + Venue Tickets
Fri 10.02. 19:00 Großes Haus Buy

Baumeister Solness

The Master Builder - adapted from Henrik Ibsen


Frank Castorf’s engagement with the Norwegian psychographer Henrik Ibsen is an important constant in his work as a director, spanning across two different political systems and across theatres in the East and in the West. His production of “A Doll’s House” (1985 in Anklam), which shaped his characteristic theatre aesthetics, was followed by “An Enemy of the People” (1988 in Karl-Marx-Stadt), “John Gabriel Borkman” (1990 at Deutsches Theater Berlin) and “The Lady of the Sea” (1993 at the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz). In his new production of “The Master Builder”, Castorf once again returns to Ibsen’s cosmos dealing with existential issues of life oscillating between the ingenious and the average, between resistance and conformity, between change and clinging to the consensus - and not least, also with the pressing issue of passing on the realm of the Master Builder to the next generation.

„The thing which interests me and what interests me about Ibsen, is moral ethics and continuity – just how long will people stick to a cause, support you, show solidarity and remain loyal? And where is the point when this continuity is suspended and put out of force? I’m talking about opportunism and such things. That’s rather difficult to grasp. You cannot use simple dramatic forms for that. Not even satirical or grotesque techniques like those used in plays by Bulgakov or Mayakovsky will do for the character development of the self-seeking “time-server”, who is backtracking and taking expedient action. It is an exciting task to find a dramatically appropriate form to depict the functioning of opportunism. How people are suddenly maintaining the opposite of what they believed was true just an hour ago, as if on fast forward; in the play it takes days, in real life sometimes years or, depending on the historical context, even decades. That’s what I’ve been interested in from the beginning, in all my productions of plays addressing this theme. (Frank Castorf 1988 in a conversation with Stefan Frohmader).

Duration: 4h, one break

  

With: Marc Hosemann (Halvard Solness, Baumeister), Kathrin Angerer (Hilde Wangel), Harald Warmbrunn (Knut Brovik, früher Architekt, jetzt Assistent bei Solness), Daniel Zillmann (Ragnar Brovik, sein Sohn, Zeichne rund Aline Solness, Frau des Baumeisters), Hanna Hilsdorf (Kaja Fosli, Knut Broviks Nichte, Buchhalterin) and Mex Schlüpfer (Doktor Herdal)

Director: Frank Castorf
Stage Designer: Bert Neumann
Costumes: Bert Neumann
Light Design: Lothar Baumgarte
Video: Klaus Dobbrick
Dramaturgy: Sebastian Kaiser

Sie haben keinen Flashplayer installiert.

Inspiration by

Edward Grieg - Lyric Suite op.54 "Shepherd's boy"
Coil - Are you Shivering?
Nicole - Berlin, Berlin
Carl Nielsen - Five Piano Pieces, Op.3 -I. "Folketone"
Freddy Quinn - Hundert Mann und ein Befehl
The Beatles - Revolution No.9
The Monks - Complication
Van Morrison - Beautiful Vision
David Bowie - Space Oddity

//

Volksbühne Berlin am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz
  Video starten
Wann Zeit + Spielort Karten
Sa 21.01. 18:00 Großes Haus Restkarten nach Verfügbarkeit an der Abendkasse
Fr 10.02. 19:00 Großes Haus kaufen

Baumeister Solness

nach Henrik Ibsen


Die Beschäftigung mit dem norwegischen Psychogrammatiker Henrik Ibsen ist eine wichtige Konstante im Regieleben von Frank Castorf. Sie spannt einen Bogen über zwei politische Systeme, über das Theater in Ost und West hinweg. Auf die eine ganz bestimmte Ästhetik prägende „Nora“ (1985 Anklam) folgte „Volksfeind“ (1988 Karl-Marx-Stadt), „John Gabriel Borkman“ (1990 Deutsches Theater Berlin) und „Die Frau vom Meer“ (1993 Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz). Mit der Umsetzung von „Baumeister Solness“ greift Frank Castorf nun den Themen-Kosmos Ibsens wieder auf; verhandelt wird die Existenz zwischen Genialität und Durchschnittlichem, zwischen Widerstand und Konformität, zwischen Wende und Konsensverbleib und immer wieder auch das Baumeisterreich, das die nächste Generation beansprucht.

„Was mich und was auch Ibsen interessiert, was von moralisch-ethischer Kontinuität ist: Wie lange bleiben Leute bei der Stange und sagen, wir unterstützen dich, wir sind solidarisch? Und wann kommt etwas, was diese Kontinuität außer Kraft setzt? Also eine Geschichte des Opportunismus. Und die ist schwer durchschaubar. Die kann man nicht mit einfachen Formen, auch nicht mit Mitteln der Satire oder der Groteske darlegen, wie man das aus bestimmten Stücken von Bulgakow, von Majakowski kennt - die Figur des Umfallers aus Berechnung. Das darzustellen, ist ein ganz interessanter Punkt: wie der Opportunismus funktioniert. Wie manchmal Leute ins Entgegengesetzte von dem fallen, was sie noch vor einer Stunde gesagt haben. Das ist ja wie im Zeitraffer; im Stück sind es Tage, im Leben sind es manchmal Jahre, in bestimmten historischen Abschnitten auch Jahrzehnte. Das war, was mich anfangs an Ibsen interessiert hat. Auch an anderen Stücken, die ich bisher gemacht habe, und dieses Thema zum Gegenstand haben." (Frank Castorf, 1988 im Gespräch mit Stefan Frohmader).

Spieldauer: 4 Stunden, eine Pause

  

mehr

Mit: Marc Hosemann (Halvard Solness, Baumeister), Kathrin Angerer (Hilde Wangel), Harald Warmbrunn (Knut Brovik, früher Architekt, jetzt Assistent bei Solness), Daniel Zillmann (Ragnar Brovik, sein Sohn, Zeichne rund Aline Solness, Frau des Baumeisters), Hanna Hilsdorf (Kaja Fosli, Knut Broviks Nichte, Buchhalterin) und Mex Schlüpfer (Doktor Herdal)

Regie: Frank Castorf
Bühne: Bert Neumann
Kostüme: Bert Neumann
Licht: Lothar Baumgarte
Musikalische Einrichtung: Klaus Dobbrick
Dramaturgie: Sebastian Kaiser

Sie haben keinen Flashplayer installiert.

Inspiration by

Edward Grieg - Lyric Suite op.54 "Shepherd's boy"
Coil - Are you Shivering?
Nicole - Berlin, Berlin
Carl Nielsen - Five Piano Pieces, Op.3 -I. "Folketone"
Freddy Quinn - Hundert Mann und ein Befehl
The Beatles - Revolution No.9
The Monks - Complication
Van Morrison - Beautiful Vision
David Bowie - Space Oddity

//